PNBA Announces Book Awards

BkAwardsWeb-200x230The Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association announced today the winners of the 2014 Pacific Northwest Book Awards. A volunteer committee of independent booksellers chose these six books from more than 250 titles published in 2013.

Original essays from each of the winners will be featured on over the next several weeks, beginning tomorrow, January 7.

Local Awards events listed below and additional events in conjunction with the Award-winning author will be featured at

The 2014 Winners:

Ruth Ozeki (Whaletown, British Columbia): A Tale for the Time Being, Viking Books
Award Presentation: Jan. 29, Third Place Books, Lake Forest Park, WA

Langdon Cook (Seattle, WA): The Mushroom Hunters: On the Trail of an Underground America, Ballantine Books
Award Presentation: Feb. 8, Elliott Bay Book Company, Seattle, WA

Jess Walter (Spokane, WA): We Live in Water: Stories, Harper Perennial
Award Presentation: Feb. 13, Auntie’s Bookstore, Spokane, WA

Robert Wrigley (Moscow, ID): Anatomy of Melancholy and Other Poems, Penguin Books
Award Presentation: TBA, BookPeople of Moscow, Moscow, ID

Emily Winfield Martin (Portland, OR): Dream Animals: A Bedtime Journey, Random House
Joe Sacco (Portland, OR): The Great War: July 1, 1916: The First Day of the Battle of the Somme, W.W. Norton & Co.
Award Presentations: TBA

About PNBA and NW Book Lovers:
PNBA is a non-profit trade association that supports independent bookselling, literacy and free speech in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington. Each year since 1965, the Pacific Northwest Book Awards have celebrated exceptional books written by Northwest authors.

The NW Book Lovers blog promotes the region’s authors and independent bookstores.